Major Research Awards

  1. 2015
  2. Barbara Terhal receives ERC Consolidator Grant for the project Engineering Quantum Error Correction.
  3. Hendrik Bluhm receives ERC Starting Grant.
  4. Barbara Terhal is selected as outstanding referee for the American Physical Society
  5. 2014
  6. Norbert Schuch is awarded an ERC Starting Grant. Press release
  7. Barbara Terhal becomes a Distinguished Visiting Research Chair at Perimeter Institute, Waterloo, Canada
  8. 2011
  9. Hendrik Bluhm is awarded the Alfried Krupp Prize for Young University Teachers. Press release
  10. 2010
  11. David DiVincenzo is awarded an Alexander von Humboldt Professorship, leading to the formation of the Institute for Quantum Information
  12. 2007
  13. Barbara Terhal receives the Outstanding Innovation Award, IBM Research
  14. David DiVincenzo receives the IBM Outstanding Innovation Award: “Seminal Contributions to Quantum Computing”
  15. Barbara Terhal becomes Fellow of the American Physical Society
  16. 2000
  17. David DiVincenzo becomes Fellow of the American Physical Society
  18. 1989
  19. David DiVincenzo is awarded the IBM Outstanding Innovation Award for “Perfect Penrose Tiling”

Other awards and prizes

  1. 2014
  2. Pascal Cerfontaine and Marian Marx receive the Schöneborn Award for excellent mathematics and natural sciences graduates from RWTH Aachen University
  3. Pascal Cerfontaine is awarded at PhD fellowship by the Deutsche Telekom Foundation